Friday, April 12, 2013

Legality of Hunters: Monster Laws

This is the second in our Legality Series.

Part one can be viewed here.

In the first post we discussed the different categories of Laws that can affect a Monster Hunter and how these can vary from location to location, from country to country and even with neighboring cities.

This post goes into the varying levels of laws that a hunter may encounter within any given zone.

Categories of Monster Laws:

The DPRCD has given a scale of 0-5 for any given areas Monster Laws. Furthermore any Category will have either an A or B designator. The A designator means that these laws apply universally to all monsters found within the region. The B designator means that these laws are not equally enforced across all species within the zone and that some may fall into a lesser or greater category.

Any hunter looking to operate into an area with a B designator needs to pay close attention to what species are covered as an area that usually is a Category 1 for 90% of the monsters may be a category 5 for certain creatures.

The most notable would be in Germany, while nominally a 2B country there are some creatures such as unicorns which fall into Category 5 legislation and any effort to hunt these can result in stiff penalties, jail time, and even the death penalty for uninformed hunters.

Category 0: 

There are no regulations for hunting any type of monsters within this area. Any hunter may protect humanity regardless of the creature being hunted. As there is no laws against their hunting there is no A or B designation for Category 0 zones.

Romania would qualify as a Category 0 country, due to the vampire infestation and the minions they bring, the country itself has no laws that protect any denizens of the night. This is mostly due to their long history of preying upon the people of the country.

Category 1: 

These locations have very few or very lax monster hunting regulations that are generally easy to comply with. This could mean as little as a fee paid or proper notice given. Licensing is scarce if required at all.

The Ukraine is a Category 1B country. The effects of Cherynobyl have caused a variety of new creatures to form and the government has little will to stop the populace from protecting themselves against any such abominations. However there are many Vedmak whom operate within their territory and the mixed results have led to certain protections that are not afforded to any other abomination or even witches.

As a result, in regards to Vedmak, the Ukraine has Category 4 regulations.

Category 2:

These locations have limited protections and rules that protect the monsters. Generally these are areas that have attachments to the creatures for some ungodly reason. It is still possible to hunt these creatures but often certain niceties and customs must be performed before a hunter can get to work.

Vatican City/Rome qualify as a Class 2B country/city. While the pope and church stringently hunt down and destroy any creature that may appear within their domain and support others to do the same, generally there are rituals and ceremonies of the Catholic faith that any hunter must go through before they receive papal permission. Notable exceptions appear to be Angelic beings which have a Category 5 rating within the Vatican.

Category 3:

In these regions monsters can find some legitimacy under laws, they approach more humane regulations. This could mean that a creature could be killed on a person's property but not in the wild or that they enjoy protection within designated areas, but not in others. Licensing and regulation of monster hunting licenses are more prevalent at this level.

The United States of America is a Class 3B country, it's laws and regulations vary so sharply within its borders that any independent hunter wishing to operate within its borders must check federal, state, and local laws before beginning work. In the USA and other first world nations there are generally organizations such as the Department of Paranormal Research Containment and Destruction that can assist hunters in their tasks.

Category 4:

Very stringent laws and protection. Category 4 areas are often signs of a high number of intelligent creatures that are capable of blending in and influencing the locals. However this is not always the case, the stringent protection could just arise from a relatively harmless but diminished population. The locals taking the view of preservation rather than extermination.

Norway is a Class 4A country, the local trolls are protected and only rarely are hunting permits issued. It is joked that you have more luck hunting a bear than getting a troll hunting permit by the local monster hunters. If an individual kills a troll without a license, they must prove to the respective entities that it was done in self defense or to save a life.

Category 5:

The highest possible Category any area can receive. In these areas monsters can not only have the same rights as humans, but even greater rights. These laws are universal and like the Category 0 areas does not have an A or B Classification as exceptions if they exist are incredibly rare.

The nation of Brunei is an example of a Category 5 country. The creatures that inhabit the country are not to be hunted or harmed by the locals. There are exceptions in regards to the Sultan and his family, however the laws are stringent enough and so limited as to classify the nation as a Category 5.

As with all things the laws of a country may be different from that of a state, county, shire, city, etc in very noticeable ways. What is a Category 0 country may contain Category 5 cities. All hunters are to look in depth into the areas rules and regulations before going to work.

No comments:

Post a Comment